First Few Pages

First Few Pages: Before We Were Yours
First Few Pages

First Few Pages: Before We Were Yours

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers […]

First Few Pages: Our House
First Few Pages

First Few Pages: Our House

On a bright morning in the suburbs, a family moves into the house they’ve just bought on Trinity Avenue. Nothing strange about that. Except it’s your house. And you didn’t sell it. When Fiona Lawson arrives home to find strangers […]

First Few Pages: Normal People
First Few Pages

First Few Pages: Normal People

At school Connell and Marianne pretend not to know each other. He’s popular and well-adjusted, star of the school football team, while she is lonely, proud, and intensely private. But when Connell comes to pick his mother up from her […]

First Few Pages: The New Me
First Few Pages

First Few Pages: The New Me

Thirty-year-old Millie just can’t pull it together. She spends her days working a thankless temp job and her nights alone in her apartment, fixating on all the ways she might change her situation–her job, her attitude, her appearance, her life. […]

First Few Pages: The Poppy War
First Few Pages

First Few Pages: The Poppy War

A brilliantly imaginative talent makes her exciting debut with this epic historical military fantasy, inspired by the bloody history of China’s twentieth century and filled with treachery and magic, in the tradition of Ken Liu’s Grace of Kings and N.K. […]